Louisiana Ag Hall of Distinction seeks nominations for 2021 inductees

Louisiana Hall of DistinctionThe Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction is now accepting nominations for its annual induction ceremony, which will be held March 4, 2021, in Baton Rouge.

The nomination form can be obtained online at www.louisianaagriculturehallofdistinction.com or through any parish LSU AgCenter office. The deadline for receiving nominations is Dec. 1.

The Hall of Distinction is a program of the Louisiana Radio Network, LSU AgCenter, Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation and Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry to recognize individuals who have a profound effect on Louisiana agriculture or agricultural enterprises. Nominees can represent any facet of agriculture or agriculture-related industries, including farming, ranching, aquaculture, fisheries, education and agribusiness.

“While 2020 has presented numerous challenges, our agriculture community didn’t miss a beat in providing us with the food and fiber we need,” said Bill Richardson, LSU vice president for agriculture. “Agriculture continues to be a leading industry in our state, and we wish to recognize those people who have dedicated their lives to helping keep agriculture thriving in Louisiana.”

John Denison
John Denison was one of four inductees to the 2020 Louisiana Ag Hall of Distinction.

The four individuals inducted in 2020 were James Barnett, a forestry researcher from Pineville; John Denison, a rice, soybean and crawfish farmer from Iowa; Jay Hardwick, a corn, cotton and soybean farmer from Newellton; and Calvin Viator, a crop consultant from Thibodaux.

“We are pleased the Hall of Distinction remains a signature event each year to honor those who have contributed to our state’s agricultural industry,” said Louisiana Radio Network President Jim Engster. “The past year has reminded us how we depend upon agriculture to provide for us, and we would like to recognize those individuals who have made it so successful.”

Since its inception, 22 individuals have been inducted into the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction.

“The Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation is proud to be a part of the Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction. It recognizes the men and women who not only grow the food and fiber we need, but take it upon themselves to set up the next generation for success,” said Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation President Jim Harper. “Our nation and this state are dependent upon having a strong agriculture economy, and these individuals have made that possible.”

“It is a great honor to be nominated and inducted into the Agriculture Hall of Distinction. Agriculture and forestry are major industries in Louisiana and a huge impact on our economy. Those who have dedicated their lives to these industries deserve to be recognized,” said Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry Commissioner Mike Strain. “I encourage you to submit nominees so we can celebrate their lifelong contributions to agriculture and forestry.”

Bayer is the title sponsor for this year’s event.

For more information, contact Don Molino with Louisiana Radio Network at 225-291-2727, ext. 210, or don@louisianaradionetwork.com, or Bobby Soileau with the LSU AgCenter at 225-578-3659 or bsoileau@agcenter.lsu.edu.

Related Articles

Quick Links

E-News Sign Up

Connect With Rice Farming