Louisiana Ag Hall of Distinction seeking nominations

Louisiana Hall of DistinctionThe Louisiana Agriculture Hall of Distinction is accepting nominations for its annual induction ceremony, which will be held March 26, 2020, in Baton Rouge.

The nomination form can be obtained online at www.louisianaagriculturehallofdistinction.com or through any parish Louisiana State University AgCenter Extension office. The deadline for receiving nominations is Nov. 22.

The Hall of Distinction is a program of the Louisiana Radio Network, LSU AgCenter, Louisiana Farm Bureau Federation, and the Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry to recognize individuals who have a profound effect on Louisiana agriculture or agricultural enterprises. Nominees can represent any facet of agriculture or agriculture-related industries, including farming, ranching, aquaculture, fisheries, education or agribusiness.

“Agriculture is a significant part of Louisiana’s economy,” said Bill Richardson, LSU vice president for agriculture. “It provides many jobs, especially in rural communities. More importantly, agriculture produces the food we need and supplies the materials used for our homes. Our country and state would look much different without a successful agriculture industry. This event honors those who have made a difference.”

The four individuals inducted in 2019 were Grady Coburn, a crop consultant from Cheneyville; the late Jack Hamilton, a cotton farmer and cotton warehouse manager from Lake Providence; George LaCour, a farmer from Morganza; and Linda Zaunbrecher, a long-time member of the Louisiana Farm Bureau executive committee.

Bayer is the corporate sponsor for this year’s event.

For more information, contact Don Molino with Louisiana Radio Network at 225-291-2727, ext. 210, or don@louisianaradionetwork.com, or Bobby Soileau with the LSU AgCenter at 225-578-3659 or bsoileau@agcenter.lsu.edu.

Related Articles

Connect With Rice Farming

Quick Links

E-News Sign Up